Lucid Review

So, I’ve decided that whenever I finish a book I’ve never read before, I’m going to post a review! There could be a lot of these, or there could hardly ever be any. It all depends on how much I read at the time. This week’s book is called Lucid. 


Title: Lucid

Author (s): Adrienne Stoltz and Ron Bass

Genre: Realistic fiction

Synopsis: What if you could dream your way into a different life? What if you could choose to live that life forever?

Sloane and Maggie have never met. Sloane is a straight-A student with a big and loving family. Maggie lives a glamourously independent life as an up-and-coming actress in New York. The two girls couldn’t be more different-except for one thing. They both share a secret that they can’t tell a soul. At night, they dream that they’re each other.

The deeper they’re pulled into the promise of their own lives, the more their worlds begin to blur dangerously together. Before long, Sloane and Maggie can no longer tell which life is real and which life is a dream. They realize that eventually they will have to choose one life to wake up to, or risk spiraling into insanity. But that means giving up one world, one love, and one self, forever. 

Characters: Maggie, Sloane, Andrew, Jade, Gordy, Max, Nicole, Jerome, Lila, Kelly, Bill, James, and more. 

Theme: Essentially love. It starts out as a whole dream thing, then turns into a love story, then returns to the dream thing. 

LEESE’S THOUGHTS: 

Overall, this was a decently good book. I’d read it again, and I think I need to so I can figure out what the crap was going on. Lucid was confusing as heck, which may be because I was mostly focused on reading about Sloane and didn’t give a rat’s rear end what happened to Maggie most of the time. 

The ending was very confusing and the beginning dragged FOR-EV-ER! If I’m being honest, the beginning bored me half to death and I only kept reading so I could finish it and figure out who was real and who wasn’t. 

But then it happened. I hit about the 200 page mark and there were around 150 pages left. And it WENT CRA-ZYYYYY!!

Things from Sloane’s world kept appearing in Maggie’s, and vice versa. I was confused and kept trying to figure it all out. 

This book almost made me cry because I was afraid to see who was real in fear that one of them would fade away forever (though I do prefer Sloane over Maggie by a long shot). It was intense as crap.

Overall, I enjoyed reading Lucid. It’s not on a favorite book list of mine, but it’s really good. 

Recommended for: Fans of realistic fiction, people who have the ability to notice every little detail (unlike me)

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

And that’s all I have to say about Lucid. Tune in next time I finish a book for more reviewing! The next book will most likely be Seeker, another book I bought at the same time as Lucid. I love Ollie’s. I got three hardbacks for six dollars

Anyway, that’s all for now! Leese, signing off! 

Leave a Reply

